Posted by: Tyler Mills | September 26, 2011

Mistborn: The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson

Mistborn: the Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson is a book that changed my life. My sister recommended it to me in 2009 and I finally got around to reading it for the first time about a year ago. This was the first book of Brandon Sanderson’s that I read, and it led me to his website, and then of course to Writing Excuses. Those of you who know me well know that the podcast has had had a huge impact for me in coming to know myself and deciding to make writing a bigger part of my life. I really love this book, and I am a huge fan of Brandon Sanderson in general. In fact, there may soon be a bonus post in which I will share my experience in meeting Brandon Sanderson and Dan Wells in person last weekend…

Mistborn: The Final Empire is the first book of a trilogy set on the world of Scadrial, a strange and cheerless world where ash falls from the sky during the day, and mists cloak the world at night. The Final Empire itself is ruled by the immortal Lord Ruler, a god-like deity who defeated the hero of ages and has ruled Scadrial with an iron fist for a thousand years. The peasant Skaa struggle to survive in the cities and on the plantations while the nobility live a life of luxury. In this sad and broken climate, Kelsier, a half skaa thief turned revolutionary is assembling a team to carry out the caper of the Millennium.  Target: the Lord Ruler himself. The other main character is a street urchin named Vin who discovers that she is one of the famed and terrifying Mistborn. A rare and extremely powerful type of magic user who has to learn how to trust Kelsier and his crew in order to learn how to use her powers and survive being hunted by the Lord Ruler’s most terrifying servants: The Inquisitors.

Brandon Sanderson’s Mistborn  is a complex and intriguing story with many fun twists and turns. Scadrial is truly a unique world and the magic systems are wonderful. It is delightful to follow the characters as they run into trials and have to use their powers and as a reader I was running through the list of their abilities trying to figure out how they could possibly win. The character’s were realistic, complex, and interesting and I had reasons for liking (or fearing) all of them.

The story was fast paced and fun and I devoured it. I highly recommend Mistborn: the Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson.

Leave a Reply

Categories

