Posted by: Tyler Mills | August 1, 2011

Education of a Wandering Man by Louis L’Amour

As I do with many authors, if I enjoy their books I will take some time to learn a little about their lives. After I read To the Far Blue Mountains I decided to do a bit of research on Louis L’amour. One source I was led to was The Education of a Wandering Man, a memoir of Mr. L’Amour’s life experiences and learning from many periods of his life spanning from his teenage years until he began his writing career.

The book paints a fascinating portrait of a time in America which is very much forgotten in the modern day. He has an excellent memory and is obviously well-read and intelligent. The only flaw I found in the book was that in places the narrative would take tangents on very loosely related subjects, only to return back to the original topic like twenty or thirty pages later after I had forgotten all about where we were. It rather reminded me of sitting in front of a campfire and listening to an old man tell about the old days. It was enjoyable and he was filled with wit and wisdom, the narrative was just hard to follow at times.

Throughout the book Louis L’Amour frequently refers back to books he read during that time of his life. It was amazing to see the sacrifices he made, even sacrificing meals and other comforts, so that he could continue furthering his education through reading. It was humbling and inspiring to hear of the trials and pains that he endured silently as simply the way that life was in his young adult years. I doubt I could have survived half of the things he did.

If you are interested in glimpsing the life and soul of such a great writer and man, I highly recommend Education of a Wandering Man by Louis L’Amour.

Leave a Reply

Categories

